alpaster.blogg.se

Jazmine sullivan insecure l
Jazmine sullivan insecure l





Was elevating up-and-comers always part of the equation? They’ll name a song and be like, “This sounds like something that should be on ‘Insecure.’” Such a high compliment. I’ve heard people say that, and it’s so flattering. Episode 8 of the last season, I always say that’s my opus because I wanted every song to represent the romanticism.

jazmine sullivan insecure l

I love adding music to those scenes, deciding which ones will affect how the audience may feel. Also the way we put sex scenes and Black lovemaking on the map in a new way. We highlighted female singers and rappers in a distinct way when others weren’t - I’m thinking about TT the Artist and Kari Faux in Season 1. What are you most proud of in terms of how “Insecure” has handled music? Habermehl and Nnena - in an NPR Tiny Desk Concert filmed at Inglewood’s Hilltop Coffee + Kitchen, of which Rae is part owner. “It’s confirmation that I’m supposed to be here and that I’m doing what I’m supposed to do.” Last week, TeaMarrr appeared with two other “Insecure” alums - B.K. “I never get more texts than when my music is on ‘Insecure,’” says TeaMarrr, a singer and rapper with a jazzy, Billie Holiday-ish lilt. Yet the show has also served as a crucial incubator for emerging artists, including many from L.A. Artists featured on “Insecure’s” several soundtrack albums - as well as an official Spotify playlist with nearly 200,000 followers - have included established acts such as SZA, Thundercat and Jazmine Sullivan, who recorded a steamy duet called “Insecure” with Bryson Tiller for Season 2.

jazmine sullivan insecure l

Now she’s leaving behind a classic of her own: For five seasons, “Insecure” has showcased what the series’ music supervisor, Kier Lehman, calls “modern alternative R&B,” long on breathy vocals and vibey production that lend valuable emotional detail to the show’s layered storylines.







Jazmine sullivan insecure l